Posted by: Roger | February 12, 2014

Hoping For A Better 2014

After the meager progress last year, I hope I can get farther this year. I started on the second helix months ago, but it’s still a long way from where I can shove it in place and lock it down. Five more feet of track and wiring, a few odds and ends and I’ll be there… sort of.

The second helix is being tracked, while other parts of the layout are feeling neglected.

The second helix is being tracked, while other parts of the layout are feeling neglected.

The Monroe Train Show was a refreshing success after the previous two were rather bland and under-attended. I picked up a set of Lowell Smith’s special run Northern Pacific stock cars. I had meant to order them, but forgot, and then they were sold out. I was really happy to see both of the three-packs. The fellow I bought them from has actually flown in and out of a remote airstrip north of the Brook’s Range where I spent the summer of 1984. I was working for the BLM at the time.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to pick up my custom painted SD45s as Kendall was not able to attend the show.

Leave a Reply

Categories

