Posted by: Roger | November 1, 2014

Custom Painted NP SD45s

I picked up my custom-painted SD45s from Kendall at the Lynden train show, but seem to have lost track of time.

Kendall started with this.

Since Kato hasn't made any Northern Pacific SD45s... yet, I bought a pair of these to turn into Northern Pacific locos.

Since Kato hasn’t made any Northern Pacific SD45s… yet, I bought a pair of these to turn into Northern Pacific locos.

and the finished product looks like this.

NP-SD45-3614_DSCN1377

This is one of the first two of my custom SD45s. The layout location belongs to my friend Paul, since I haven’t made much progress on my own.

I was so impressed with Kendall’s work, I ordered two more of those SPSF locos at bargain basement prices. The Puyallup show is in two weeks, so I will get them to him at that show.

You can find Kendall at The Blue Caboose on the internet.

Addendum, with edit:

Getting Micro-Trains couplers at the correct height in these locos takes a bit more work, and costs more than it should. For these locos, I used the coupler box from the 2004 kit and the coupler from the 1015 kit. The under-set shank coupler in the 2004 is too low (or is it high? Either way it’s not right.) to mate with other Micro-Trains-equipped rolling stock. For the ES44 and SD70s, Paul uses the 2003 kit designed for the Kato Mikado locomotive, but this requires drilling a hole in the coupler box cover with a #55 bit. In addition, he puts the coupler box on top and sands the cover flat so the stock Kato clip will hold it in place.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

